Thrive freeze dry signs definitive acquisition agreement with Paradiesfrucht GmbH
Thrive Freeze Dry, an Entrepreneurial Equity Partners and Mubadala Capital portfolio company, today announced that it has entered into a definitive agreement to acquire Paradiesfrucht GmbH. The transaction is expected to close in 2024...

Thrive freeze dry signs definitive acquisition agreement with Paradiesfrucht GmbH

Thrive Freeze Dry, an Entrepreneurial Equity Partners and Mubadala Capital portfolio company, today announced that it has entered into a definitive agreement to acquire Paradiesfrucht GmbH. The transaction is expected to close in 2024...
thrive logo
pf logo
AMERICAN FORK, UT, April 9, 2024

Thrive Freeze Dry (“Thrive”), a manufacturer of freeze-dried products, today announced that it has entered into a definitive agreement to acquire Paradiesfrucht GmbH (“Paradise” or the “Company”), a global freeze dryer of fruits, fruit preparations, yogurts, drops, powders, and granulates. Thrive is a portfolio company of Entrepreneurial Equity Partners, a Chicago-based private equity firm focused on the food and consumer packaged goods industries and Mubadala Capital, the wholly owned asset management subsidiary of Mubadala Investment Company, a leading global sovereign investor headquartered in Abu Dhabi, UAE. The transaction is expected to close in 2024, subject to customary closing conditions, including certain governmental approvals. Financial terms were not disclosed.

Paradise is part of the Jahncke group, founded in 1883 by the Jahncke Family, a fifth-generation family-owned business and a global industry leader, supplying its products to the beverage, cereal, snack, bakery, and confectionery markets. Paradise operates 20 freeze dryers out of two facilities located in Salzwedel and Immekath, Germany.

Thrive is a global leader in the manufacturing of freeze-dried products, including fruits, vegetables, herbs, proteins, candies, pet treats, probiotics, enzymes, and prepared meals. The company currently has facilities in the United States (California, Utah, New York, Wisconsin, and Texas), Canada, Germany, and Peru. Thrive prides itself on its ability to serve as a technical expert and flexible manufacturing partner for its customers.

Paradise will bring an extensive suite of customized freeze-dried offerings

“With the acquisition of Paradise, a well-respected player in the market, Thrive will further enhance its manufacturing capabilities and presence in Europe,” said Steve Palmer, Chief Executive Officer of Thrive. “This transaction builds on Thrive’s acquisition of German-based Freeze-Dry Foods, which occurred in August 2023. Paradise will bring an extensive suite of customized freeze-dried offerings to our already robust product portfolio. The acquisition will also provide an opportunity to expand Thrive’s freeze-dried pet product offerings to the European market through an expanded footprint in Germany and truly position Thrive as a leader in the fast-growing market for freeze-dried pet food and treats.”

Bernd Wiesner, Paradiesfrucht GmbH CEO, added: “We are excited to be joining the Thrive Freeze Dry’s portfolio of outstanding companies. Our expertise as a global freeze dryer will complement Thrive’s offerings and will allow us to offer more to our dedicated
customers. We are excited about the numerous potential synergies and opportunities for growth that lie ahead for the company.”

Mayer Brown LLP and Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP acted as legal counsel, and FTI Consulting as transaction advisor for e2p and Mubadala Capital.
Büsing, Müffelmann & Theye acted as legal counsel, and Oaklins Germany AG as transaction advisor for Paradise.

About Paradiesfrucht GmbH

With locations in Salzwedel and Immekath, Paradiesfrucht GmbH (“Paradise”) is a global manufacturer of freeze-dried fruits, fruit preparations, yogurts, drops, powders, and granulates.

About Thrive Freeze Dry

Headquartered in American Fork, Utah, Thrive Freeze Dry is a manufacturer of freeze-dried fruits, vegetables, herbs, proteins, candies, pet treats, probiotics, enzymes, prepared meals. For further information, please visit www.thrivefoods.com.

About Entrepreneurial Equity Partners

e2p is a middle market, Chicago-based private equity firm focused on control-oriented investments in the food and consumer packaged goods industries. e2p’s team includes experienced food and consumer packaged goods executives and investors who bring an entrepreneurial mindset and extensive industry network to support and collaborate with portfolio company teams. For further information, please visit www.e2pcapital.com.

About Mubadala Capital

Mubadala Capital is the wholly owned asset management subsidiary of Mubadala Investment Company, a leading global sovereign investor headquartered in Abu Dhabi, UAE. Mubadala Capital manages c. $20 billion in aggregate across its own balance sheet investments and in third-party capital vehicles on behalf of institutional investors, including four flagship private equity funds, three early-stage venture funds, two funds in Brazil focused on special opportunities and a highly diversified evergreen investment strategy focused on private market opportunities. Mubadala Capital has offices in New York, San Francisco, London, Rio de Janeiro and Abu Dhabi. For further information, please visit www.mubadalacapital.ae.

Media Contact

Mary Kennerly
Incline Communications
[email protected]
+1 312 771 6805

For Mubadala Capital media inquiries, please contact:
Salam Kitmitto
Mubadala Capital
[email protected]
+971 50 276 9286

Discover more areas

Freeze Dried
Products

Frozen Fruit
Products

Solutions
Products

Health
Products

This might also be interesting for you

13 Food & Snack Trends for 2024

In this article you will find out which exciting food and snack trends you can look forward to this year! From plant-based innovations and tried-and-tested classics to daring flavour experiments – discover exciting new products and familiar favourites. See our 13 food trends here:

read more »
Skip to content

Thrive Freeze Dry unterzeichnet endgültige Übernahmevereinbarung mit Paradiesfrucht GmbH
Thrive Freeze Dry, ein Portfoliounternehmen von Entrepreneurial Equity Partners und Mubadala Capital, gab heute bekannt, dass sie eine endgültige Vereinbarung zur Übernahme der Paradiesfrucht GmbH getroffen hat. Der Abschluss der Transaktion wird für 2024 erwartet.

Thrive Freeze Dry unterzeichnet endgültige Übernahmevereinbarung mit Paradiesfrucht GmbH

Thrive Freeze Dry, ein Portfoliounternehmen von Entrepreneurial Equity Partners und Mubadala Capital, gab heute bekannt, dass sie eine endgültige Vereinbarung zur Übernahme der Paradiesfrucht GmbH getroffen hat. Der Abschluss der Transaktion wird für 2024 erwartet.
thrive logo
pf logo
AMERICAN FORK, UT, April 9, 2024

Thrive Freeze Dry („Thrive“), ein Hersteller von gefriergetrockneten Produkten, gab heute bekannt, dass es eine endgültige Vereinbarung zur Übernahme der Paradiesfrucht GmbH („Paradise“ oder das „Unternehmen“), einem globalen Anbieter von gefriergetrockneten Früchten, Fruchtpräparaten, Joghurts, Tropfen, Pulvern und Granulaten unterzeichnet hat. Thrive ist ein Portfoliounternehmen von Entrepreneurial Equity Partners, einer in Chicago ansässigen Private-Equity-Firma, die sich auf die Lebensmittel- und Konsumgüterindustrie konzentriert, sowie von Mubadala Capital, der hundertprozentigen Vermögensverwaltungstochter der Mubadala Investment Company, einem führenden globalen Staatsfonds mit Sitz in Abu Dhabi, VAE. Der Abschluss der Transaktion wird vorbehaltlich der üblichen Abschlussbedingungen, einschließlich bestimmter behördlicher Genehmigungen, für 2024 erwartet. Über die finanziellen Bedingungen wurde keine Angabe gemacht.

Paradise ist Teil der Jahncke-Gruppe, die 1883 von der Familie Jahncke gegründet wurde und ein Familienunternehmen in fünfter Generation ist sowie ein globaler Branchenführer, der seine Produkte an die Getränke-, Getreide-, Snack-, Backwaren- und Süßwarenindustrie liefert. Paradise betreibt 20 Gefriertrockner an zwei Standorten in Salzwedel und Immekath, Deutschland.

Thrive ist ein globaler Marktführer in der Herstellung von gefriergetrockneten Produkten, darunter Früchte, Gemüse, Kräuter, Proteine, Süßigkeiten, Heimtierleckerlis, Probiotika, Enzyme und Fertiggerichte. Das Unternehmen verfügt derzeit über Produktionsstandorte in den Vereinigten Staaten (Kalifornien, Utah, New York, Wisconsin und Texas), Kanada, Deutschland und Peru. Thrive ist stolz darauf, als technischer Experte und flexibler Fertigungspartner für seine Kunden zu fungieren.

Paradise wird ein umfangreiches Angebot an maßgeschneiderten gefriergetrockneten Produkten beisteuern

„Mit der Übernahme von Paradise, einem angesehenen Marktteilnehmer, wird Thrive seine Fertigungskapazitäten und Präsenz in Europa weiter ausbauen“, sagte Steve Palmer, Chief Executive Officer von Thrive. „Diese Transaktion baut auf Thrives Übernahme des in Deutschland ansässigen Unternehmens Freeze-Dry Foods im August 2023 auf. Paradise wird unser bereits robustes Produktportfolio um ein umfangreiches Angebot an maßgeschneiderten gefriergetrockneten Produkten erweitern. Die Übernahme wird uns auch die Möglichkeit bieten, Thrives Angebot an gefriergetrockneten Heimtiernahrungsprodukten auf den europäischen Markt auszuweiten, indem wir unsere Präsenz in Deutschland ausbauen, und Thrive damit als Marktführer in dem schnell wachsenden Markt für gefriergetrocknetes Heimtierfutter und -leckerlis positionieren.“

Bernd Wiesner, CEO der Paradiesfrucht GmbH, fügte hinzu: „Wir freuen uns, Teil des hervorragenden Portfolios von Thrive Freeze Dry zu werden. Unsere Expertise als globaler Gefriertrockner wird das Angebot von Thrive ergänzen und es uns ermöglichen, unseren engagierten Kunden noch mehr zu bieten. Wir sind begeistert von den zahlreichen potenziellen Synergien und Wachstumschancen, die sich für das Unternehmen ergeben.“

Mayer Brown LLP und Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP fungierten als Rechtsberater, und FTI Consulting als Transaktionsberater für e2p und Mubadala Capital. Büsing, Müffelmann & Theye waren als Rechtsberater und Oaklins Germany AG als Transaktionsberater für Paradise tätig.

Über Paradiesfrucht GmbH

Mit Standorten in Salzwedel und Immekath ist die Paradiesfrucht GmbH („Paradise“) ein globaler Hersteller von gefriergetrockneten Früchten, Fruchtpräparaten, Joghurts, Tropfen, Pulvern und Granulaten.

Über Thrive Freeze Dry

Thrive Freeze Dry hat seinen Hauptsitz in American Fork, Utah, und ist ein Hersteller von gefriergetrockneten Früchten, Gemüse, Kräutern, Proteinen, Süßigkeiten, Heimtierleckerlis, Probiotika, Enzymen und Fertiggerichten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.thrivefoods.com.

Über Entrepreneurial Equity Partners

e2p ist eine mittelständische Private-Equity-Firma mit Sitz in Chicago, die sich auf kontrollorientierte Investitionen in der Lebensmittel- und Konsumgüterindustrie konzentriert. Das Team von e2p besteht aus erfahrenen Führungskräften und Investoren aus der Lebensmittel- und Konsumgüterbranche, die ein unternehmerisches Mindset und ein umfangreiches Branchennetzwerk einbringen, um Portfoliounternehmen zu unterstützen und mit ihnen zusammenzuarbeiten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.e2pcapital.com.

Über Mubadala Capital

Mubadala Capital ist die hundertprozentige Vermögensverwaltungstochter der Mubadala Investment Company, einem führenden globalen Staatsfonds mit Sitz in Abu Dhabi, VAE. Mubadala Capital verwaltet rund 20 Milliarden US-Dollar in Eigenkapitalinvestitionen und in Vehikeln für institutionelle Anleger, darunter vier Flaggschiff-Private-Equity-Fonds, drei Frühphasen-Wagniskapitalfonds, zwei Fonds in Brasilien mit Fokus auf Sonderchancen und eine breit diversifizierte Evergreen-Anlagestrategie für Privatmarktchancen. Mubadala Capital hat Büros in New York, San Francisco, London, Rio de Janeiro und Abu Dhabi. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.mubadalacapital.ae.

Media Kontakt

Mary Kennerly
Incline Communications
[email protected]
+1 312 771 6805

For Mubadala Capital media inquiries, please contact:
Salam Kitmitto
Mubadala Capital
[email protected]
+971 50 276 9286

Entdecken Sie weitere Bereiche

Freeze Dried
Produkte

Frozen Fruit
Produkte

Solutions
Produkte

Health
Produkte

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Bakery Trends: 11 Bäckereitrends, die Genuss neu definieren

Entdecken Sie in unserem Blogbeitrag, wie Bäckereien 2024 Gesundheitsbewusstsein, Kreativität und Kundenbedürfnisse in Einklang bringen. Erfahren Sie mehr über die Trends, die von gesunden Alternativen bis hin zu innovativem Dekor reichen und die Art und Weise, wie wir Backwaren genießen, revolutionieren.

Weiterlesen

13 Food & Snack Trends für 2024

Erfahre in diesem Beitrag, auf welche aufregenden Food- und Snack-Trends du dich in diesem Jahr freuen kannst! Von pflanzlichen Innovationen über bewährte Klassiker bis hin zu gewagten Geschmacksexperimenten – entdecke spannende Neuheiten und gewohnte Dauerbrenner. Hier geht’s zu unseren 13 Food Trends:

Weiterlesen

Skip to content